Dio achieve fantastic NIWA Science Fair results


Dio achieve fantastic NIWA Science Fair results

The annual NIWA  Auckland Science and Technology Fair, celebrates the excellence in scientific and technological investigations carried out by Auckland Year 7 to Year 13 students. For the second year running, Covid-19 restrictions has required all participants to submit their projects digitally rather than in person, with interviews with the judges taking place via Zoom.

Over nine thousand students from 32 schools across Auckland participated this year, with fantastic results again from the Dio contingent.  Congratulations to all our prize winners below.

Category Prizes

Year 7 & 8 Food Science and Technology

Highly commended - Georgia Tierney, Cookie Time.

Year 7 & 8 Human Behaviour

2nd -  Place Charlotte Ray, Speedy Cerebellum.

Highly commended - Saskia Mclaren & Olivia Watson, Do Brain Breaks Help Productivity?

Year 7 & 8 Living World

Highly commended -  Mia Platt and Mackenzie Roxburgh, Dogs vs Cats. Hanae Tsunokawa, Bad Words vs Good Words.

Year 7 & 8 Material World

Highly commended -  Ann Kyle & Laura Zhu, What Metal Corrodes the Least? Francesca Eglinton, How Safe are Your Kids Pyjamas? Amelie Tapper, Vitamin C in Broccoli.

Year 9 & 10 Human Behaviour

2nd -  Holly Bricklebank & Chloe Dasler, Asch Conformity Experiment.

Highly Commended - Siobhan Murphy, Happiness Formula.

Year 9 & 10 Living World

3rd - Yeshvi Kandar, Too Loud, Too Long, Too Lethal.

Highly Commended - Violet Tucker & Chloe Laury, Natural Remedies vs Synthetic Antibiotics.

Year 9 & 10 Physical World

2nd - Madeleine Christiansen, Is Our Lighting Giving Us The Blues?

3rd - Gray & Edith Li, Electro -Shark.

Year 9 & 10 Material World

2nd - Danielle Wong & Hannah Wellington, Bring on the Bioplastic.

Year 9 & 10 Planet Earth and Beyond

Highly Commended - Italy de Monchy and Vanessa Huang, What’s Up With The Stars?

Year 9 & 10 Technology

3rd -  Sophie Edmonds, #Emotional.

Year 9 & 10 Research

1st place - Nina Wilson and Abby Varghese, Vaccines vs Viruses.

Special Prizes

SAANZ Prize for Social Science Focus Year 9 & 10 Holly Bricklebank & Chloe Dasler, Asch Conformity Experiment.

ESA Publications Prizes Charlotte Ray, Speedy Cerebellum. Yeshvi Kandar, Too Loud, Too Long, Too Lethal. Sophie Edmonds, #Emotional.

University of Auckland - Dean of Science Creativity Prize for: original and creative use of scientific equipment Hannah Gray & Edith Li, Electro -Shark.

Dodd-Walls Centre Prize for best exhibits involving optics  Madeleine Christiansen, Is Our Lighting Giving Us The Blues? Italy de Monchy and Vanessa Huang, What’s Up With The Stars?

UoA Faculty of Science Awards Awards for students showing passion, enthusiasm while producing quality science Danielle Wong & Hannah Wellington, Bring on the Bioplastic.

Manaaki Whenua Landcare Research Awards Environmental Focus Danielle Wong & Hannah Wellington, Bring on the Bioplastic.

Back to News & Successes